Touch Podium

Providing you with the best up-to-date news, apps, games, and themes available for your iPod Touch/iPhone.

Summerboard Gets 1.1.3 Compatibility Update, Makes You Feel Funny in the Pants

Posted by Eric March on February 1, 2008

SummerBoard loves you.So you’ve upgraded and jailbroken your firmware 1.1.3. Now you’ve finished organizing your 8-page springboard into a neat and tidy single-page with Categories. (You have downloaded the update, right?) Well, boyo, I’m afraid you’re not done sprucing your Touch/iPhone up just yet, because Summerboard 3.1-1 just hit the wires. In case you’ve been living with your head lodged in a small tin bucket while constantly beating it with a pair of wooden spoons for the last several months, Summerboard sits on top of Springboard and lets you apply themes, wallpapers and all sorts of gee-whiz-nifty stuff so your Touch/iPhone looks sexy enough to date. As of this writing the Nullriver repo server is slammed harder than a ho on free sample night, so expect lengthy download times — but like a starving man waiting for a juicy porterhouse steak to grill, I don’t have to tell you that it’s worth the wait. Of course, I really don’t know why I’m continuing to type, because by now the whole lot of you have already grabbed your devices and are furiously stabbing at Installer’s Refresh button while that rivulet of drool on your shirt keeps getting longer.

NOTE: Some people (myself included) are reporting problems with Summerboard coming up as inactive after installing and rebooting, resulting in a non-functional Summerboard install. Thus far we have not determined the problem and therefore have yet to find a solution. If it does not work for you, have some patience and hopefully the collective braintrust (or Nullriver themselves) can come up with a workable solution.

UPDATE: After some straw polling, it would appear as though the ones effected are those who used ipodtouchmaster’s all-in-one jailbreak method. The solution that has worked so far is to do the whole jailbreak process all over again and use the official Dev Team GUI 1.1.3 jailbreak method.

I know, you all love me right now. Please put down the crowbar.

UPDATE 2 (Feb. 2nd, 2008): Well, after banging my head against a brick wall bristling with rusty iron spikes tipped with salt and vinegar, I have finally and successfully jailbroken 1.1.3 by starting with a clean 1.1.1 restore, jailbreaking my way through to 1.1.2 and then using the Official 1.1.3 Upgrader and not using the restore feature. It did freeze with a blank screen after the “Jailbreaking System Image” notice, but I forced a reboot and it popped into the 1.1.3 springboard with everything working flawlessly — including SummerBoard! After 12 hours of futzing around with this whole 1.1.3 jailbreak debacle, I believe I can finally say that I am done.

13 Responses to “Summerboard Gets 1.1.3 Compatibility Update, Makes You Feel Funny in the Pants”

  1. SummerBoard 3.1-1 is working charms on my jailbroken 1.1.3 iPod Touch.

    The plus side about all of this, is that I actually used SkylarEC’s jailbreaking method. 🙂

  2. Eric March said

    I’m currently going through the whole re-jailbreaking process again, this time using the official GUI. It isn’t complete yet (still downloading the ipsw) but I sincerely hope this solves the problems I’ve been having once and for all. If it does, then lesson learned: Wait for official Dev Team jailbreaks. 🙂

  3. haha, congrats on finally getting things all organized and working flawlessly Eric!

    It felt like a painful process, just hearing about it hour after hour! haha. 😉

  4. alan said

    and how did u did it?? I don’t want to have to lose everything in my itouch so i can use summerboard 😦 shouldn’t never done that ipodtouchmaster’s jailbreak method

  5. Eric March said

    Unfortunately, the solution that worked for me did involve doing a complete, fresh restore back to 1.1.1 (which erased everything), jailbreaking through to 1.1.2 as normal, then using the Official 1.1.3 Upgrader, choosing NOT to use the restore method when I run the GUI app. That worked for me.

  6. izyuhboy said

    I’m new to all of this, so my question is what is the GUI app and when you say Official 1.1.3 Upgrader do you mean Apple’s or Dev Team jailbreaks.

  7. Yea, the Dev Team’s jailbreak method is considered the “official” method. 🙂

  8. Jordan said

    If you used ipodtouchmaster’s method. You can SSH into your iPhone/Touch, and change some things to 755, and one other line of code through putty which I forget, btw. 🙂

  9. Josh said

    I ssh’d to the iPhone and deleted all the SummerBoard preferences and Themes. Reinstalled, rebooted and it is working fine now.

    rm -Rf /var/mobile/Library/SummerBoard/Themes
    rm /var/mobile/Library/Preferencescom.apptapp.SummerBoard.plist

  10. Josh said

    Sorry that was:

    rm /var/mobile/Library/Preferences/com.apptapp.SummerBoard.plist

  11. Glad to hear it Josh.
    From now on, pleaes go to http://www.touchpodium.com for updates!

  12. Jeff Jev said

    I used the Dev Teams Official 1.1.3 Update and summerboard still is inactive. I reinstalled it. Rebooted and nothing works. When i changed the chmod of springboard to 775 it went into recovery mode and Independence wont bring it out of it. I re-did everything but still no luck. How do I fix it

  13. From now on, please go to http://www.touchpodium.com for updates!

Leave a Reply

 
