Touch Podium

Providing you with the best up-to-date news, apps, games, and themes available for your iPod Touch/iPhone.

Furthermore on Nate’s Discouraged iPhone 1.1.3 Jailbreak Release / When To Expect Firmware 1.1.3 iPod Touch Jailbreak Method

Posted by Jody Mitoma on January 25, 2008

iphoneplanetbeing, a member of the ipodtouchfans.com forums, and a part of the actual development of an upcoming iPod Touch firmware 1.1.3 jailbreak, had a little something to say earlier today.

Here is his post found on ipodtouchfans:

I’m going to speak about this, because I think there’s a lot of misunderstanding about what happened.

Initially Nate wasn’t part of our group. The issue was that Nate leaked the fact that we actually had 1.1.3 before Apple released it, and demonstrated it in a GearLive video. This action, naturally, jeopardizes our source. This was accidental by him, though, as he did not know we were trying to keep it a secret.

After the merged group (us) managed to jailbreak 1.1.3, Nate wanted in to help out. Given that the first leak was unintentional, most of us were happy to let him back in, and we told him how we were able to achieve the jailbreak.

…Be sure to read the whole story by clicking below!

We then were working on a soft-update that would not jeopardize the jailbreak method. Nate’s idea was that we could just throw an already jailbroken 1.1.3 image onto 1.1.2. In order to circumvent copyright issues, he would binary patch the unjailbroken 1.1.3 image. However, some members of the group maintained that the patch STILL contains copyrighted information and discouraged Nate from working on it.

Others, like me, didn’t think significant copyrighted information was disclosed with this method, and that is was both legally and ethically sound. However, I did think binary patching an image was messy.

Regardless, all of us were upset when we found out that instead of trying to reach a consensus with the group on the issue, he created a jailbreak with that method and released it. In fact, he didn’t even advise the channel at all that he was releasing his jailbreak.

I think Nate’s a nice guy, and I don’t think he’s trying to intentionally screw us over. But I do think he made a serious misjudgment by releasing it without talking to the rest of us about it (especially since he wasn’t even involved in all the work to reach it).

I don’t think there’s anything legally or ethically wrong with his jailbreak (though I do think there’s a couple of technical issues with it), and I’ve always had friendly interactions with Nate, but because it’s difficult to trust a person who has leaked information twice, I did not object when the more angry elements of the team ejected him.

Thanks for clearing that up, planetbeing!

If you have an iPhone and want to use his jailbreak, I think that’s perfectly okay. Though, it does have a few bugs that only Nate can be held responsible for. If you have an iPod touch, I would wait until we make a version for that.

Also, quoting ipodtouchmaster05 of the ipodtouchfans forums, here is what planetbeing had to say in regards to when the release of the iPod Touch firmware 1.1.3 jailbreak method would be released:

Quote:
Originally Posted by ipodtouchmaster05 View Post
hey, when do you think you will release the ipod touch version?? (even though this works fine on my ipod)

I believe, but I am not certain, that the Mac-only release which was made by “us” (I did not personally contribute, but I’ve looked over some of the early code) handles iPod touches as well. Over the next couple of days, I will port that over to the PC.

I don’t have as much time to work on this as previously, since I’m back in school now, and you know, I’d like to pass all my classes and such. =P

Looks like we have an official jailbreak for the iPod Touch firmware 1.1.3 coming soon!

Source: an ipodtouchfans.com thread

Leave a Reply

 
